I have changed over the last two years and I’m wondering if it’s for the better.

on paper it’s great I now have a girlfriend, a job, a car that won’t break down if you look at it wrong, a better wider taste in music, movies and books.

but have I just sold out? (of course not you need talent and artistic integrity for that)

As a kid all I wanted was to play football, granted I was a bit of a dreamer thinking I’d ever play AFL I was never that good, but I gave up on that and turned to music and fire.

first nu-metal (linkin park, POD ect) and sparkler bombs(and some stuff a little more fun) but I havent blown anything up in over a year, and the last album I listened to was Adele, 15yo me would have hated that, but I went from blowing stuff up to playing pranks (glad wrapping cars freezing jumpers inside large blocks of ice). but again close to a year since I played a real joke on anyone, and it was also then I found iron maiden, dream theater and led Zeppelin for a year or two I was obsessed with loud hard heavy music, it’s been two years since my last death metal concert(again don’t get me wrong I still love it), then I thought I’d read the classics, books that mean something Tolstoy, Goldman and the like. I was going to learn things and I started listening to experimental music, both of these are still happening but even they are starting to wane.

and now I’m watching the imdb 250 greatest movies, reading russian literature and listening to pop and RnB. and enjoying it.

But what happened to the rage against the machine fan that blew stuff up thought the friday the 13th’s were the best movies, comedy books were the best to read and loved practical jokes?

Dont get me wrong I still like those things but I hardly do them and I hardly watched a game of football last year after watching 3 or more a week growing up.

Now  I’m happy with who I am but I realised that I need to step away from the pretentious Pysdo adult stuff every now and then I need to be a stupid kid (if not quite as stupid as I was)

So for those of you I know, it’s time to prank and set fire to things once more, it’s time to put down the Nietzsche and pick up the pranks. (unfortunatley I should wait till fire ban is over to burn things)

So am I happy with how I changed?

YES

but going from 5 hours work a week and being single to 50 and in a relationship took longer to get used to than I thought, as did getting up at 5am instead of going to bed then.

so a strangely serious if self-absorbed post there i’ll blame that on late nights and strange convos, but never fear I’ll be back to my yeti stories and delusions for the next post probably

Comments
  1. Kelly says:

    Good read Terry!! How we all change over the years… it’s crazy! I can’t believe it’s been over a year since you blew something up! That’s amazing. We should probably change that. I still have the sticky notes on my walls from yours and Anna’s prank actually! 🙂

    Like

  2. codebeard says:

    I say let’s watch kung fu and blow something up.

    Like

  3. Altheodi says:

    NIce post Terry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

