The Tablets pt 7

Posted: December 9, 2015 in Stories
Tags: , , , , , ,

A month after my exams I was feeling good I had stopped having the dreams again and had almost written the tablets off as some bad dream or hallucination.

That was when I got a call from the Lady of Mercy Asylum asking if I was Quincy Jones and if I would be willing to come meet one of the doctors, they wanted to talk about a former friend of mine Markus Slone. I was shocked and part of me wanted to say no and leave it at that, curiosity and some kind of sense of duty made me agree and I scheduled a time to meet with the doctor.

The next day as I walked past a newsagent a headline caught my eye.

“Murderer unfit to stand trial in university mutilation case”

My stomach sank and before picking up the paper I knew it had to be Markus.
I bought the paper and read it right there on the street, I couldn’t belive what I was reading. Markus had gone to see professor Lewis the day after exams demanding to see the tablets and had been kicked out of the university grounds around midday.

Cleaners had found him the next morning smeared in and surrounded by what was later determined to be professor Lewis. They found him clutching the tablets as he rocked back and forth raving about the great ones return and impending doom.

There were details about his trial and being ruled insane and transferred to Our Lady of Mercy Asylum.

I dropped the paper and almost canceled the appointment the next day, looking back I wish I had.

After a very unsettled night I woke and prepared to meet Markus’ doctor.

Most of the morning was a blur and before I knew it i was sitting across from a desk listing to the doctor explain the reason for my invitation.

“It is all highly unorthodox getting you in like this but then so is the whole case. you she he keeps calling your name and saying things like Quincy will understand, you have to let me see Quincy or most regularly none of you were chosen but Quincy was he’s the only other one”

“So you see we wondered if you could shed any light on these claims or if you know what delusions he may be under or what he thinks the two of you are chosen for?”

My mind froze I knew I couldn’t tell him about my visions or I might end up committed myself.

I told him I had no idea what Markus was talking about other than he had become obsessed with the tablets and I had helped him one day. I answered a few more questions and made my excuses and left cursing myself for coming at all.

Two days later at about six in the evening I got another call from the hospital telling me that Markus had escaped and warning me that his obsession with me might mean he would be headed my way.

I dropped the phone and didn’t hear as she continued to tell me a police officer was on the way.

I panicked and ran to the front door and locked it then ran to the kitchen and grabbed the biggest knife I had while wishing I had a gun.

I spent the night locked in my study, knife in my hand and constantly on edge,  I thought I heard some knocking at about two in the morning but didn’t dare go outside.

At seven the next morning the police arrived started to question me about what happened. When I told them they cursed me and decided to quickly take me away. As I walked out side I looked back at my house and broke down.

Knowing he is still out there somewhere with those accursed tablets still keeps me up at night. But what caused me to flee England and live on the other side of the world and never enter an unlit room or go out at night, is what I saw that day written on the wall, in the blood of the policeman, was a message from Markus.

WOE TO YOU OH MORTAL MAN,
FOR THE GREAT ONE WILL RETURN.

THE SEAS WILL RISE AND BOIL
AND ALL THE EARTH SHALL BURN.

THE STARS WILL GO DARK AND DEAD
AND THE WORLD WILL CEASE TO TURN.

WOE TO YOU OH MORTAL MAN
FOR THE GREAT ONE WILL RETURN.

FROM THE SHADOWS HE SHALL COME TO PLUNGE THE WORLD INTO DARKNESS EVERMORE.

Leave a Reply

